Cupcake Frosting Tutorial

header

Happy spring break!!

DSC01594This week I’m in good ole’ Eaton, Colorado visiting my family for spring break. That means I get to blog from my mom’s beautiful kitchen, with the red kitchen-aid mixer I’ve missed so much, and with my precious little doggies in tow. (Or helpers as I like to call them-they always get flour on them when I bake, as you can see from the picture on the left, from hovering around the kitchen for any spare crumbs!)

As I promised from my last post, we’ll now start on one of my favorite things to bake.. cupcakes! My biggest cupcake inspiration is Georgetown Cupcakes. You may recognize the name from their show on TLC, DC Cupcakes. It features the cute sister pair, Sophie and Katherine, that started their cupcake business together built on family recipes,  that turned into a mass success, eventually landing them their show on TLC!

519IBrA8kFL._SX428_BO1,204,203,200_
amazon.com

Their book, The Cupcake Diaries, is a must for anyone wanting to make perfect cupcakes. It has great recipes, tells their story of growing up baking with their family, and then deciding to open up their own business, along with tips for being successful with your own business. I have used this book as a reference for years and I highly recommend it-you can’t go wrong with any of their recipes! Most of the baking guidelines I follow now I got from this book!

 

For today’s tutorial, I will be using their “Milk Chocolate Birthday Cupcakes” recipe from the book. You can use whatever cupcake recipe you would like for this tutorial but I recommend one of their recipes to ensure success.

Frosting Tutorial:

  1. Using a piping bag, I prefer Wilton brand, cut a hole in the bottom to fit the piping tip in perfectly. I use these plastic tips that move outwards at the top, so I don’t need to use couplers: FullSizeRender
  2. Fold the top of the bag over your hand when pouring frosting in, so you can easily fill up with frosting without making a mess:DSC01602
  3. When piping bag is full, twist the top so it won’t overflow while you’re applying pressure to the bag to ice the cupcakes.DSC01608
  4. Now for actually frosting the cupcakes! Apply slight pressure, and start piping out frosting from the middle, work your way around out to the sides, and finish by working your way back to the middle

     

  5. If you don’t want to do the swirl, you can also cast little dots onto the cupcakes like so:
  6. Beware of doggie prowlers! 🙂 DSC01648
  7. And then you have beautiful cupcakes that are just as good to look at as they are to eat! You can use my frosting method with other piping tips to have slightly different designs.DSC01641DSC01629DSC01623DSC01609

Is it just me or do the frosting on these cupcakes kind of look like soft serve ice cream? Check in next week for a chocolate candy cupcake decoration tutorial!

Love & Best Baking

Colette

Leave a Reply

